St. Andrews Arms

Some of you may or may not know that I have been applying to Ph.D. programs the last month or so. I haven’t really talked about it a ton because it’s the kind of thing that you don’t want to tell all your friends about only to find out that you’re not going because you can’t get in. At least that’s the way I have viewed it. However, I received this email today from the postgraduate secretary of the University of St. Andrews:

 

 

Dear Ben

I am happy, unofficially, to let you know that your application for postgraduate study has been successful.  The Postgraduate Committee is recommending to the University that you be accepted into the Ph.D programme ….  You will receive a letter from the University within the next two to three weeks.

Whoohoo! Now, we are still waiting to hear from several other schools, so we haven’t made any final decisions as to where we’re going yet (but St. Andrews is definitely one of my top choices), but it looks like, barring any unforeseen circumstances that we are going to the UK in the fall.

(The image above is the University of St. Andrews Coat of Arms)

