There are a lot of stories about evil in our world right now but this one hits me particularly close to home. The story is about a 28 year old man who apparently went on a rampage and killed 6 people and wounded several others. This story is like something out of a too-violent movie, the guy apparently killed people at random, including shooting motorists on I-5.

Growing up in Bellingham, WA, I drove through Alger everytime we went south on I-5. This story is extremely troubling to me. Last night, I was watching the movie Ronin and one thing that struck me about that movie is how many innocent bystanders get killed. On the one hand this is much more accurate than most action movies that show big shoot-outs or car chases where no one gets killed. On the other hand it made the movie much harder to enjoy because there was so much senseless violence.

All violence is deeply troubling but when it hits close to home like this it makes one pause and consider. Thus, today, my heart goes out to those whose loved ones were taken so senslessly but my prayer and my hope is for the day when violence and evil will be defeated. Here is my prayer for today:

 LORD, God of vengeance,
         God of vengeance, shine forth! 
    Rise up, O Judge of the earth,
         Render recompense to the proud. 
    How long shall the wicked, O LORD,
         How long shall the wicked exult?

He has brought back their wickedness upon them
         And will destroy them in their evil;
         The LORD our God will destroy them. (Ps. 94:1-3, 24)

