We got the opportunity to go see Andrew Lloyd Webber’s masterpiece ‘The Phantom of the Opera’ last Saturday. To review it in one sentence is very easy: IT IS AWESOME! This is the second performance I have seen live. I have seen the movie and have listened to the CD of the original Canadian Cast with Colm Wilkinson, who blows away any other performance of the Phantom, so many times I even have his inflections memorized. 

All that being said, I really really enjoyed the performance that is currently at the Keller Auditorium. It took me a while to really appreciate Richard Todd Adams as the Phantom, but by the second high note of Music of the Night, he had me sold (he was no Colm Wilkinson, but, hey, who is?). And his interpretation of the Phantom, was noticeably creepier and psychotic than others I had seen. There were even moments where he brought Heath Ledger’s Joker to mind (and it was not inappropriate). For an understudy Kelly Jeanne Grant was a phenomenal Christine and Greg Mills as Raoul was a fantastic, deep and rich performance. All in all it gave me shivers, as it does every time I see it or hear. I highly recommend it!

