This article was brought to my attention today. It is about Sen. John McCain’s rejection of Rev. John Hagee, who had previously endorsed him as Presidential Candidate. The reason for the title of this post is that now both of the presumptive nominees have had to distance themselves from controversial religious figures. 

I was fairly upset, as a white evangelical Christian, that there was not as big a scandal when McCain won Hagee’s endorsement as there was over Obama’s ties to Jeremiah Wright. I am certain that I am as embaressed or more to share the same label (evangelical in this case) as John Hagee as many black theologians are to share the label with Jeremiah Wright. Let me be clear, I am not in a position to criticize Jeremiah Wright, from what I’ve heard him say, he’s said things I never would but our contexts are vastly different.

On the other hand, I do have a similar tradition to John Hagee. The comments that specifically caused McCain to reject Hagee’s endorsement were his remarks regarding the fact that Hitler’s actions were helping fulfill God’s will to return his people to their land. For me, Hagee’s recent book, In Defense of Israel, which claims that Jesus did not claim to be the Jewish Messiah, is even more problematic. This argument, in my opinion, shatters Christianity as I see it.

Maybe it’s the cynic in me, but I feel like our politicians will accept any influential support until it comes back to bite them where the sun don’t shine. 

