I have encountered several things in my life in the last few days that have caused me to ponder anew the problem of Christian disunity.

1) Someone in my life recently asked me about the theology of the Emergent Church movement because they were going to do some ministry deal with them. When this person agreed to it he immediately got negative feed back about the Emergent Churches theology, saying it is scary and heterodox.

2) Aboulet, over at finitum non capax infinit (a fantastic blog that I read regularly), has been keeping me up to date on the situation with Dr. Peter Enns over at Westminster Theological Seminary. He has been suspended because of his supposed heterodoxy presented in his book Inspiration and Incarnation. I must confess that I have not read his book (a situation that I look to remedy shortly) but from the best I can tell his intention in writing the book is to wrestle, in a very confessional and evangelical way, the difficulties that are presented with the Old Testament

3) I recently watched a video clip with N.T. Wright in which he speaks, among other things, about the great tragedy of the visible disunity within the church.

It seems to me (and I am speaking of evangelicals in particular) that we are failing miserably to live up to Jesus’ prayer in John 17:22-23:

The glory that you have given me I have given them, so that they may be one, as we are one, I in them and you in me, that they may become completely one, so that the world may know that you have sent me and have loved them even as you have loved me. (NRSV)      

Do we not realize that the corollory of not being completely one is that the world might not know that God sent Jesus and the God loves them? What a tragedy that our visible disunity is damaging the world’s view of Jesus and God. My prayer for my generation is that we could get past this doctrinal snobbery (believe these set of core beliefs or I will not associate with you) and live like Jesus, who as far as I can tell was less concerned with who he associated with and more concerned with reaching out to those in need. Lord forgive us, we do not know what we do!

